I am getting pretty serious about starting a press build. I’ve saved enough money to buy most of the hydraulics, and have a friend who works for a steel fabricator that has offered to get me whatever steel I need in exchange for a knife

I have started drawing up my design, and thought I would seek out advice or opinions from people who have built or use a press regularly.

The picture below is the basic geometry I am working with. Obviously I have a lot of details to fill in, but wanted to solicit opinions before I go too far into the weeds.

The overall height is 55” to help with the scale.

The maximum opening will be 12.5”, and the cylinders have a 10” stoke. I am looking primarily at pattern welding work, so this seems like plenty of room for dies and work space, but I’ve never used a press before so I’d like input.

The width of the working space is about 18”

The height of the lower die when the cylinders are fully retracted will be roughly 39” above the floor.

The two 4” cylinders mounted below will produce a little less than 37 tons. I’ve done some preliminary analysis on the 1” plates attached to the cylinders, and it looks good. I still need to do some FEA to see if the angle uprights are sized correctly.

I haven’t figured out how I want to do the attachments for the dies, or the guides for the ram yet. I’ll work on that stuff once I’m happy with the frame.

FWIW, I don’t have power in the shed where I do my forging. I plan to build a gas (petrol) engine to run the hydraulics. I’ll build a little lean-to outside my forging area for the engine, pump, and tank, and the run the hydraulic lines thought the wall to the press.

I’d appreciate any thoughts.

Capture.JPG

Edited by Brian Dougherty
  • Replies 71
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts