Sign in to follow this  
Alveprins

C41-16 Air-Hammer - oil leakage?

Ok, so I am trying to figure out this new air-hammer I've bought from China.

Having absolutely no previous experience with air-hammers, I do not know if the following is to be expected, or not... So here it goes..

I am having some concerns about the oil consumption. I have no experience with these machines, but in my opinion - this seems a bit excessive. Have a look at the pics and video below:

beforeafter.jpg

This is how it looks before and after idling for 5 minutes.

also, here is a 10 sec video youtube of the cylinder idling. you can see the oil dripping off it and stuff:

https://youtu.be/dfuEzmvmxfg

Any input will be very much welcomed.

Sincerely, Alveprins.

Its massively over oiling.

Is there anything in particular I am supposed to do about that? I have adjusted the oil reservoar to release approx. 3-4 drops of oil pr. minute.

Also - I had to open the top cover above the piston that generates the air pressure and manually fill about 200 grams of oil into it in order to have it run. Or else - there would be too much friction for the motor to run it.

I suppose this surprus of oil has then been forced into the chamber with the actual hammer piston, and that it is that oil we're seeing?

I had some troubleshooting with the manufacturer yesterday as the motor was unable to run the drivewheel. They told me to open the top cover of the back cylinder and fill in 200 grams of oil, screw it back on, run the drivewheel by hand for 4-5 turns - and then start. It then started just fine. However - if I turn it off and leave it for .. say - 45 minutes; I have trouble starting it again and need to fill oil directly onto the back piston and turn the wheel manually - lubricating the walls and what not - before starting it. If not - the motor will run the driwheel maybe a half turn, then stop, and then another half turn, and stop - and so on....