a bit of excitement!!

I tested for Journeyman smith rating at the blade show, and passed!!! I have been a pro knife and sword maker for 15 years but his process did more to challenge and advance my skill than anything else I have ever done. I am a far batter maker now than when I started this. I had coop take some Pro pic of my set and will post them when i get them back but for now this is a photo of my judging display as well one of me receiving my "stamp". the ABS is not for every one but the act of testing your self against at imposed standard is worth doing. I will never be sorry I took the time and effort to do this.

MP

js.jpg

abs testknives.jpg

• Like 3

Congratulations!

You deserve it. The stuff you post on this website, and your opinion on how joining the ABS helped you better yourself as a blade maker is are two reasons why I finally joined this year.

Well done.

• Like 1

Congratulations, Matt! Glad to see a test set that doesn't look like everyone else's make it in, too!

Who's that other name besides Howard on your performance test blade?

Congrats Matt! Well deserved for your skill. It's encouraging to hear you're having such a positive experience and that, with the challenges of the test, you've found so much worthwhile improvement in the process even after so many years in the craft.

Edited by John Page

Congratulations Matt! It is well deserved. You are a great maker, and as Alan said, I am glad your presentation set is unique. Your knives have character.

Good job Matt! I never doubted that you'd pass.

good for you. Glad to see that coffin handle finally learned its lesson and let you finish it!

• Like 1

Congratulations! I'm looking forward to the pro pics. I love one in the middle (integral?)

Grats Matt!

Kevin Casey told me if you join the ABS it's best to go all the way and get your MS stamp... Are you?

-Gabriel

Congratulations, Matt! Glad to see a test set that doesn't look like everyone else's make it in, too!