First Forge Build Questions (insulation, burner angle, safety tips)

Hi I am getting geared up for building my first forge this December. I have a couple of very newbish questions.

I want as safe as a forge as possible, I am relatively new to this and want to give myself the most safeguards possible.

I want a forge capable of forge welding, and may eventually play around with melting brass, copper, and silver.

I want to be able to heat treat knives with it.

I want as precise of temperature control and information as possible.

Fuel efficiency is plus.

So my basic understanding is

1. Get a solid metal casing (such as a old propane tank, or air compressor). Looking for a 10" to 12" diameter tube.

2. Line with Kaowool or a similar material.

3. Leave an area on the bottom open and line with refractory mortar and firebricks.

4. Cut a hole for your burner, but a smaller opening for the back.

5. Line the Kaowool (2-3 inches) with ~1/2" of saronite, then a ir reflective refractory clay. (partially fire up the furnace a at each layer to cure the clays)

6. Weld in a housing for the burner, attach to a propane tank and you are good to go.

7. Where wool/cotton cloths, a respirator, and face shield when working with dangerous/hot materials

So my questions.

a. Can you use something other than the ceramic fiber insulators (like a castable refractory)

b. Is the a substantial difference between the different ceramic fiber insulators

c. Is there any benefit to going for the 2700f rated materials over the 2400f rated ones

2. Any major differences between the types of firebricks, should I put a lining of ceramic fiber underneath the firebricks or just leave them and the mortar as the base?

3. What is the purpose of the hole in the back, should I have a door to completely cover it when I want heat retention.

Should I try to include a "porch" at the front to setting work on when working in the forge