Material for smelting

I have been doing research for along time and would really like to do a run. I work in the auto service industry, so that allows me access to lots of cast iron shavings from turning brake rotors. Now i know that starting with low carbon is the best way start to go. However I have pounds of sand sized shaving. It looks as those most of the cast iron is around 4-5% carbon.

From what I have read a blast furnace is the only way to get the carbon content down to a level for making steel.

Just looking for some insight.

Thanks,

Jo

I don't want to discourage you, but you have some reading to do.

Smelting is the conversion of iron ore into metal, not just remelting material into a solid piece.

A blast furnace is usually the term for the making of cast iron, or pig iron, in pre-industrial times. Reducing carbon from liquid cast was usually done in a puddling furnace, or other arrangement where the cast iron was heated to liquid then exposed to oxygen, burning carbon off until the desired chemistry was reached. All this was overtaken by the Bessemer process in the mid-19th century.

If I may ask, what's your desired end-product, and have you ever worked with someone smelting to assist and get an idea for what's involved?

Oroshigane Jo,

I would give it a try and just see where it takes you..if you end up melting cast iron to cast iron, so what...you will have a direction given to you with your trial results. You may want to talk to Mark as to how he reduces the carbon content of the material..my guess is you want a very shallow fire and some formulated slag in the bowl where the metal will end up. I would buy some FeO (Black Iron Oxide) and some fine silica ..silica is just sand but it is hard to get it very fine at your local building yard. Both are available at a ceramic supply house.