• Announcements

• Alan Longmire

IMPORTANT Registration rules   02/12/2017

Use your real name or you will NOT get in.  No aliases or nicknames, no numerals in your name. Do not use the words knives, blades, swords, forge, smith (unless that is your name of course) etc. We are all bladesmiths and knifemakers here.  If you feel you need an exception or are having difficulty registering, send a personal email to the forum registrar here.  
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Anthony Reid

makers mark design

5 posts in this topic

first a bit of background I have been making knives for the last 10 years on a very now and then hobby level I have sold a few knives and used a variety of techniques and marks to identify my work. lately I have been working on streamlining my processes and getting set up to begin making more knives and other tools which will all need to be marked before leaving the shop. My question is whether or not it is crucially important to use a logo or symbol that is easily tied to me ... obviously the purpose of marking a blade is so that the maker can be identified but I see many makers using symbols or initials etc that do not immediately tell me who made the knife only that all knives bearing that mark were made by the same person so how important is it really to include name and place etc on a handmade knife or tool? is it part of your advertising plan or is it just a way to sign the blade that will be recognizable if and when you reach a popularity to reach larger audiences? Also what is the consensus on whether a makers mark needs to be particularly related to knives, forging etc? or can it be something that only has meaning to me again leaning toward the "signature" not "billboard" school of thought?

Edited by Anthony Reid