Joshua Pitre

Tools, Heating, and Materials

Gentlemen,

I am not sure if I should post this under tools, but his is the newby section, so here I go.

I am rather new to making knives and would like to eventually work my way up to swords, I would like some advice on a few different items in regards to tools, heating and materials.

1) After combing through the internet I believe I have decided upon a grinder to purchase, I have decided spend the cash first, (and once). I am look in at a BEE Grinder 2 x 72 but I am wondering what the difference/advantage/disadvantage would be between:

A) The 1 hp and the 2 hp,

B) The single speed vs the variable speed,

C) A 8” contact wheel vs a 10 “ contact wheel,

D) A smooth contact wheel vs a serrated wheel.

Obviously the price goes up depending upon which accessories are added and I am trying not to break the bank. Below is a link to a supplier I have located with the descriptions.

https://www.knifemaker.ca/BEE-Grinders

2) I am considering a heat treating oven as opposed to a propane forge due to the accurate temperature control capabilities for annealing, heat treating and tempering. I have found one that may be sufficient in regards to size for a sword and may be used for a knife simultaneously (I believe, although it may waste a lot of energy for knives alone). It is an Evenheat KF 49.5 Oven Setpro Control 10"W x 6.5"H x 49.5"D 240v. What I am wondering is:

A) Am I nuts or should I be looking into a propane forge for one third or less of the price

B) Could this do the job for both a knife and a sword

C) Would I be better off getting a custom one built where it opens like a coffin from the top (as I have read nothing but good reviews about these coffin custom builds)

D) Does anyone have any experience with this type of oven and what is your opinion on the Setpro temperature controller

Here is a link to the oven I am considering with its description.