Sign in to follow this  
J.S.Voutilainen

Puukko, yet again. This time it's for me.

I've been making knives since 2006, but I've never made one for myself. Of course there has been a "workhorse" or two, but nothing fancy. More than once this has created a problem, because I haven't had anything worth showing available. Finally I decided it was time to address this issue. This puukko is my final work as a student at Mikkeli Vocational College, Arts&Crafts. Two years of hard work to begin the process of becoming a professional knife maker.

c0tns.jpg

Blade on this one is Uddeholm Elmax Superclean high carbon stainless steel. It was made by grinding alone, not to disturb the original structure of the steel, that has been created by powder metallurgy. Heat treatment process was quite different from what I'm used to, with 3 step progression in heating. It was quenched in warm oil for a couple of seconds, and the job finished with pressurized air. After the quench the blade was cryogenically treated in liquid nitrogen, then tempered.

Blade length 9cm, 4,8 mm at the thickest point and with an edge angle of about 19 degrees. Tapers towards the tip, and has a diamond cross section typical for (forged) puukko blades.

2z5sqvs.jpg

-161,4 C after almost three hours in the box. I was tempted to try if my tongue would stick to the stainless steel tube..

Handle is antler, birch bark and sterling silver. The antler I had had a pleasing shape that I tried to preserve as much as possible. This left the handle a bit thicker than I would normally make it, but it is very comfortable still.

14jqlpk.jpg

The sheath without its decorative sterling silver fittings and coloring.

2cwwu3q.jpg

The sheath has a birch wood "last" inside to keep everything in shape

2lwp0m0.jpg

This knife was made to go with the Finnish seax I made earlier.

a25947.jpg

I will photograph them together once the light returns. Happy winter solstice everyone!

TallennaTallenna

Edited by J.S.Voutilainen