• Announcements

• Alan Longmire

IMPORTANT Registration rules   02/12/2017

Use your real name or you will NOT get in.  No aliases or nicknames, no numerals in your name. Do not use the words knives, blades, swords, forge, smith (unless that is your name of course) etc. We are all bladesmiths and knifemakers here.  If you feel you need an exception or are having difficulty registering, send a personal email to the forum registrar here.  
Matthew Mafera

Starting the Dream

Hello everyone! My name is Matthew and I'm just starting out with bladesmithing. I've been inspired by a lot of the great people on here *cough* Arctic Fire 2016 *cough*

This post will also serve as a place to put out my ideas for what I want to do before I do them and hopefully the more experienced will be able to help me avoid beginner mistakes.

I'm on a bit of a budget currently so I am going to start by making a stock removal blade without any power tools, so I'll be doing a LOT of hand filing. I've decided to try and make a simple ballock dagger based on the on from Hieronymus Bosch's painting "The Pedlar"

106261fdafad5726e48a39216d9ebe68.jpg

Now comes the thinking out loud.

I have a piece of 1075 bar-stock that I will use for this. My first question would be, I have a 6mm thick piece of steel should my edge thickness be about 2mm? I plan on doing a flat grind for this and I want to know if the correct process would be to do a 45 degree grind at the very edge and then do another 45 grind on the edge of the first grind working up until I am at the spine? I plan on outsourcing this to someone to do the heat-treat as well. I'm considering using curly maple for the handle because I have a ton of it just sitting in my basement.

Thank you all and I look forward to getting to know people!

Welcome to the forum and welcome to world of blade making.

Ambitious project for a starter, don't you think?