Questions about Admiral Steel

I'm thinking about buying some hot-rolled 1095 from admiral. I would be interested in anyone's opinion about quality, scale buildup, things like that. Up till now I've used 1084 from Aldo and have no complaints. No scale, pre-annealed and easy to work with. Its great to pull right out of the box and get to work. But I say the great deals they have at admiral and was wondering if it was worth it. Thanks!!!

I don't know if it is still the case, but for a long time (~2004-2012 or so) Admiral's 1095 was in a funky condition from the mill that resulted in severe alloy banding.  As in, if etched it looks almost like wootz.  It's mostly a cosmetic thing, unless you're going for either hyperperformance or traditional-looking hamon.  They may have a new batch now, I haven't seen that effect in a while.

I'm still a beginner, and only do stock removal, but for what it's worth...I use Admiral's hot-rolled 1075. I have to soak it in vinegar to remove the scale before I start working it. But, the price makes it worth it for me---a pair of 60" bars shipped to my door for $72.

It was many, many years ago, but Admiral's 1095 was true to form, and best quenched in heated brine over oil. Very shallow hardening.

I do prefer Admiral's 1070 / 15N20 for my damascus blades though. For whatever reason, I seem to get better pattern definition over Aldo's 1084 /15N20.

My experience is also from an old batch but Admirals 1095 did have some serious alloy banding. Made for interesting hamons. I will say, the batch of 1095 I got from Admirals back in the day is the most robust water quenching steel I have ever used. I could over heat it and it would survive. Was great to learn on.

Their 1070/1080 has enough manganese in it that a quarter inch section quenched in water will crack.

12 hours ago, Matthew Parkinson said:

admirals 1075 has higher Manganese than the 1075 aldo has, not sure why you would get less than with 1084, that should have more.