This is my first attempt at a heat treated blade I was just testing the hated mystery steel , this is a lawnmower blade and maple handle , I learned alot , won't be making the same mistakes again 

IMG_0089.jpg

• Like 2

I didn't heat the oil after I hit the CT temp , but the blade didn't warp or crack and I gave it two cycles of 400f for an hour each and this blade is hard as crap it took some work to get an edge on it lol , I did scratch the ricosso  again still learning but this knife was for my dad and for a first knife I know he will never use hell just be happy I made it for him but now I'm studying heat treatment for actual purchased steel wish me luck lol 

IMAG0458.jpg

7 minutes ago, Wes Detrick said:

Well, as something to get your feet wet, and something to learn on, I would say it was a success.  Congrats on the first knife :D

Thank you sir I still have a leaf spring and a coil spring that I'm going to play with and see what I can get out of those after I anneal them because I really want to work on forging in the bevels as much as possible in stead of stock removal to see if I can better my hammer game lol I've got so many ideas but hardly any time 

13 minutes ago, Rexs said:

lol I've got so many ideas but hardly any time 

A very common affliction that I think many of us suffer from.  I would definitely encourage practicing the hammer work though.  It just takes a lot of practice.  Hell I am still working at it.

• Like 1
18 minutes ago, Wes Detrick said:

A very common affliction that I think many of us suffer from.  I would definitely encourage practicing the hammer work though.  It just takes a lot of practice.  Hell I am still working at it.

One never stops working on the hammer technique, I think.

Matthew Parkinson did wonders for my forging technique in about 30 seconds of explanation a few weeks ago. Changed my whole game around.

Rexs, that is a great first knife. 

Edited by Joshua States
  • Like 1