Charles dP

Coal Forge WIP

Hi there. I was tempted to put this in WIP but decided it should live here :D. I am building my first forge and, after having considered cannibalising my barbecue and other things, finally decided to scratch build. Any comments are greatly appreciated but please forgive my welds as I have no real experience (before yesterday that is).

I decided to make the forge 1m wide, 50cm across and about 95cm high using a frame of 4mm thick 40mm equal angle mild steel and a table of 4mm sheet. The table slots into the frame so that I can replace it if I need to. The fire bowl is 12cm (5") deep cast iron pot from eBay.

First I cut the sections for the top frame and welded them together

IMG_0098.thumb.JPG.b2651ea8bf341d345b395

School boy error though, I welded the inside as well. Can't seem to get these ground down so I decided to use that frame as my support.

IMG_0084.thumb.JPG.2fea66ec11aefe00688cf

I welded a second frame, this time leaving the inside alone

IMG_0087.thumb.JPG.2ab5ceb6bb92cbf129f64

Next I cut the four legs. I welded the 45' off cuts I had laying around onto the bottoms to give a bit more surface area to the feet. Sorry I thought I took a photo of the welded feet but can't seem to find it.

IMG_0088.thumb.JPG.22aca940d1653dd64bd7f

Next I lay two legs parallel with the table frame on the end at 90' to the legs. These were then tack welded to hold in place an d further welded after rechecking. The odd looking thing in there is a welders magnet end-on.

IMG_0089.thumb.JPG.1c92b3b966ed974a63b59

Once this was done, I placed the second frame 24" down from the top one and facing the other way. Again a lot of measuring, tacking, some choice words and finally welding.

IMG_0091.thumb.JPG.f15108fa79a2cada937fa

Voila. All I had to do now was slot in the table sheet, position the pot, mark and grind. You can just about see the feet weld on the far side.

IMG_0094.thumb.JPG.6075f522abbcbca0c4fa1

IMG_0095.thumb.JPG.8a372b5ba820a1d6bc38a