IMPORTANT Registration rules Read more... ×
Florian F Fortner

WIP Chiseled Manieristic Rapier Hilt

In another topic I document the progress of a rapier blade, here I will post pics and progress of a hilt that I wanted to make for a long time but did not dare because of the incredible time and effort needed for such a piece. I am no artist and not very artistically talented, so the result will not look like if Cellini or Negroli had made it :D. However, you have to start at some point...

This is the original that it is based on:

0624.00.00.01.jpg 

I will modify it because this is basically a sidesword hilt that doesn't give enough protection in the right spots for rapier fencing. The mods will become clear as I go along.

Here is the humble beginning, just bent bars of carbon steel (the originals usually are made of softer steels, because it is easier to work with and they didn't have tools as good as we do). Furthermore I will heat treat the hilt so it is more resilient to damage when sparring. This awful lot of work should last at least some time.

P1070657.JPGP1070658.JPG

Next is lots of filing. I am using small machinists files, precision files and needle files (all from a very very good german company, St.Egydyer files). It looks quite rough in the beginning, and gets finer and more detailed later on.

P1070659.JPGP1070660.JPGP1070661.JPG

This project also made the decision to finally buy a pneumatic engraving system. We went for the Enset machine, because it can go at slow speeds and can chisel with power. So this another area that needs practising!

P1070663.JPGP1070664.JPGP1070667.JPGP1070668.JPG

This is going to be a longterm project, so please have some patience...

If you have any hints or techniques to speed things up, please let me know!!

Edited by Florian F Fortner
  • Like 8