Sign in to follow this  
Pieter-Paul Derks

KITH 2017 WIP

I had some projects to finish first, before I could get started on my kitchen knife for this KITH, so I started much later than planned.:rolleyes:

I originally wanted to do a damascus san mai construction, but I have run out of steel and I won't have the money to buy some before the due date.

However, I did have a nice new piece of c100 (similar to 1095) which I wanted to try.

This is my first time working with this steel and I want to see if I can get a nice active hamon.

As design inspiration I looked at Japanese nakiri knives, with their distinctive squared tip.

I will not try to do anything traditional however, and the handle will be entirely modern.

So lets get started:

I did not take too much pictures of the forging, this style of knife is pretty straightforward anyway.

Here the steel has already been thinned both in with and thickness, and I am forging the tang:

20170524_201447_zpsnhfbpqqe.jpg

Before starting on the bevels, I make sure that my preform is flat and has all the tapers where I want them, I use a flatter and low heat for this.

If your preform ( sunobe if you're into japanese stuff) is nice and consistent, the bevelling will go easy and your edge will be easy to center:

20170524_205708_zpscjgsjsq9.jpg

To start the bevels I use a hammer with a very flat peen and hammer about halfway up the blade, straightening as I go along, until I am almost at my edge thickness.

Then I use a heavy hammer with a flat face, and draw the bevels up all the way to the spine, this smoothes all the hammer marks left by the peening:

20170524_210404_zps9pszagqj.jpg

20170524_210411_zpshdwewted.jpg

The finished forging lying in the sun:

20170525_143932_zpshtr4elo0.jpg