scales and stabilized wood suppliers?

Trying to find a place to buy handle material, namely woods and stabilized woods. I'm just beginning still so it seems a little crazy to pay 20-70 dollars per 1 block of wood for making a handle. Am i just looking in the wrong places currently? I'm trying to find some woods that look good and will be decent for handles on knives. Maybe i'm shooting too high for starters but i dont think i could justify spending that much each handle when i can forge the actual blades for much much cheaper. Maybe i just need some direction, let me know what you've done for scales and handle materials.

Here is my rant/advice 

The smaller the block of wood the more it costs is what I've noticed, stabilized wood will always be expensive. 

Its so easy to mill your own wood, all you need is a jointer and a bandsaw, or a jointer plane and a bandsaw, or handsaw if youre good enough with one. 

Im lucky to have access to tools like those, if I wanted to I could cut a hundred or so dollars worth of handle scales from a twenty dollar board of curly maple. I guess that's why woodcraft never has wood in the big sizes I need.

I'm probably just blowing hot air... 

If I was going to sell wood to knifemakers I wouldn't be able to sell much wood so I would have to sell it for more. 

If I was going to buy wood as a knifemaker I would not buy wood that is being sold to such a small group because you have to pay more. 

I like to find or harvest my own wood and I can do so because of the bandsaw I have access to, it's not like I'm some kind of master magician though, I make rectangles out of wood and then I sit on them. I can't understand how wood is priced as it is.

If I buy wood I buy it in person, wood has a personality so much more so than plain barstock steel, if I want a specific grain only I can see it and understand it for myself.