• Announcements

• Alan Longmire

IMPORTANT Registration rules   02/12/2017

Use your real name or you will NOT get in.  No aliases or nicknames, no numerals in your name. Do not use the words knives, blades, swords, forge, smith (unless that is your name of course) etc. We are all bladesmiths and knifemakers here.  If you feel you need an exception or are having difficulty registering, send a personal email to the forum registrar here.  
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Jwindle

Trouble shooting

5 posts in this topic

Hi there!

I'm a Newbie to crucible steel and to this Wonderful wealth of information! 

I fired a batch of magnetite sand and charcoal and got an interesting puck. It seems very brittle and porous, so I'm wondering if its more closer to cast iron? I also wonder if I need more heat? It was fired in a foundry using a burner I have used for pattern welding for a period of 3.5 hours with an overnight slow cool.

Would heating to a welding temp and attempting to weld be a good idea?

IMG_20170714_203831850.jpg

IMG_20170714_203849810.jpg

I have had that same experience with magnetite sand, and no, at this point it won't weld.  It's just sintered magnetite now, which means either not enough heat, not long enough at heat, and/or the conditions in the crucible were not reducing enough.

What are your variables?  Lid or not, flux or not, ratio of ore to charcoal, etc.  Direct reduction in a crucible is tricky, for every success I have had there have been five or six failures.  One of those looked a lot like your puck, and turned out to have been underfluxed.  The one following was overfluxed and nothing but slag...:wacko:

Good morning!

I sifted 11 oz. Of magnetite and mixed it with .2 oz of powdered charcoal and mixed both very together before putting them in the crucible. My train of thought was that the carbon added should be just the percentage of the desired carbon content. Perhaps my math was off too, I have been known for that!