Hello,

I'd like to show you some of my stuff.

I've been doing this as a hobby since three years ago when I got a knife and axe course as 30-y birthday present at Erik Vargtands forge in Dalarna, Sweden. Since then I've returned to the same forge once or twice a year to forge some new stuff.

Below are two seaxes, forged from bars of pattern welded steel 1095/15N20 (ebay steel).

First seax has a heavy blade with lenticular cross section. Handle is made with bog oak, moose antler that we found on a field and some brass and bronze. I Think the style is more continental than viking? Maybie Anglo-saxon. I think I see some roman influences in the handle.

Sax1 1.jpg

Sax1 2.jpg

Sax1 3.jpg

Tang was cold-peened and you can see the edges cracked a bit. Fittings are 1 mm bronze riveted to a 2 mm brass plate that I filed to look like twisted rope or something.

Second seax is more viking inspired and has wedge shaped cross section, very thin edge and a pommel that is too heavy and gives it strange balance. Fittings are cut from copper and a big block of cast grey iron (from Scania Engine block). The grey iron was boiled in lemon juice to get the grey finish. 

If you ever work with with grey iron use lots of ventilation and take a shower after work is done. It contains about 4% carbon and creates lots of fine powdery black dust that gets in everywhere and triggers bad skin with rashes that stick for weeks etc.

Sax2 3.jpg

Sax2 1.jpg

Because of warping I had to heat treat three times. This left more burn marks on the surface and along the layers in the steel. I decided to keep a few of these for a more rough look.

Sax2 2.jpg

I am currently making my first sword of some kind of wootz. I'll make a post as soon as I sort some images..

Edited by Viktor Johansson
  • Like 2
8 hours ago, Kris Lipinski said:

I really like the handle of the first one. You have really good sculpting skills :)