Quench oil recommendations

I have a rather newbie question to ask. I'm new to bladesmithing, and I need some help choosing a good quench oil to use. I'll most likely be using old files, rasps and leaf springs as my blade materials as I am on a rather small budget. Does anybody have any insight on what a good oil would be to use, and where I might be able to find it?

Also, can anybody point me in the direction of some good resources to use when choosing oils in the future? Any and all advice would be greatly appreciated. 

I would recommend either peanut, canola, vegitable oil for a good quench oil. They get the job done and do it well for most basic carbon steels. Found at all grocery stores. Of course there are dedicated quench oils, but they are far above a beginners budget usually.

Maxim oil in Dallas, Texas makes Parks 50 quench oil, sold in 5 gallon jugs. It's a well respected fast quench oil. You'll find it's rather difficult to find any quench oils in small amounts for bladesmithing, as most companies sell large amounts to big manufacturer's. 

Please DO NOT use used motor oil or any oil that goes into a vehicle. Toxic fumes and what not. 

Edited by Austin_Lyles
  • Like 2

Austin is right.  Canola oil heated to about 130 degrees F is just as good as most commercial quench oils for the steels you mention.  Files need a fast quench and this will work, leaf springs are not as picky about quench speed and it works for them as well.

• Like 2

And as for resources: This forum.  If you use a Google site search (site:www.bladesmithsforum.com <search terms>) you will will find just about any question a beginner would have has been asked and answered thoroughly (and often numerous times).  I'd also recommend you read all the pinned threads in all the sub-forums.  

Welcome to the forum.  

• Like 1
  • 3 weeks later...