Sign in to follow this  
Jeremy Blohm

three phase questions

I recently bought a kalamazoo 6x48 3 hp 3 phase belt sander. I dont have 3 phase power so i bought a 3-5hp static phase converter. I hooked everything up and it starts and runs but the start up light doesn't turn off on the converter and the motor begins to heat up and smoke. 

I guess my question would be is there too much resistance with such a wide belt that it needs to run off a rotary phase converter instead of the static?

only thing i know about 3 phase is if you get the order wrong it can go badly i would look at the wiring diagram on the motor

Everything seems to be wired correctly but i am no electrician, but i was maintenance in a huge food processing plant. Everything was 3 phase but i never had to deal with a converter. It is really straight forward i dont really see where i could have messed anything up. The only thing i can think of is the starting load is to heavy so the converter is staying on thinking it is trying to start the motor. I am thinking of puting a idler motor in conjunction with the phase converter. If that dosent work then i am going to use a 5hp 3 phase motor i have and make my own rotary phase converter.

Thank you for your response and any other suggestions would be appreciated.

Did you try running without a belt just to see if the motor runs OK by itself?  

Could it be that the motor is wired for star (wye) instead of Delta?