Cable Hunter & Longhunter's Knife.

This blade was forged from the same 1 1/4" x 12" cable as the last 2 knives posted. It measures 9 3/8" overall, and has a 5 1/4" blade. The handle slabs are giraffe bone with combination brass/copper pins. The sheath is my usual 8 oz veg. tanned cowhide.

Love the knife and sheath! 

So I got a question or two. I have never tried to forge cable and I have to differing views to this question! How hard is it to forge cable? I have been told it easier to do on a power hammer and with hammer in hand there is a learning curve!!

Thanks! I am pretty new to forge welding. I've done a few low layer blades and as far as the welding goes I thought the cable was easier, and I had fewer weld voids with the cable. I was expecting more voids which is why I chose to weld up the whole piece in one shot instead of cutting it and doing smaller pieces. I don't have a power hammer up and running yet, and this was all done with a coal forge.

This was a lot of hammering but from one 1 1/4" x 12" cable I made two 9"+ full tang knives and one 12" blade with a through tang. It hardened up well and threw wicked sparks on the sander. To me it's hard to beat a good 1084 or 1095 blade, but so far I'm impressed with the cable.

I was told to avoid rusty cable- mine was rust free. I was also told the oils will all cook out of it. Well, to avoid filling my fresh coal fire with oil and all. I heated the cable with a torch just to clean it up. Then went to the forge, heated, untwisted, and fluxed. Back to the forge and back to the vice tightened twist back up beyond where it was originally. More heating, FLUXING, and did 3 full length weld passes (probably only 4" at a time due to coal forging). Once I had a billet I cleaned it all up and etched it to see what I had or didn't have. All was well so I started hammering the blades out.