Sign in to follow this  
Zeb Camper

Best temperature to straighten a katana

I'm making a katana that has a slight bend in it after heat treatment. This will be my first finished katana, the last one (first one) was the practice blade. I have a nice hamon and am afraid I might temper it right out of the steel. It's made of 1075. What temperature do you guys recommend to straighten this katana at?Thanks in advance :D.

lately ive been over correcting my warps with the penny jig clamped to a flat bar at whatever temperature i last tempered at and slightly increase the heat by 5 degrees until it is straight. I heard the hot fryer oil at 400 degrees is amazing for fixing warps never tried it

Thanks Gabriel, I will be sure to check into the penny jig, and fryer oil. But I am no metalurgist, and was wonndering more about what temperature will keep the hard steel hot enough to bend and not lose my hamon? I am learning as I go really, I am new to the japanease blademaking game. I have temperd at 350°F on a tanto before, but I didn't have to straighten anything.

tempering temps wont affect your hamon any 350-500.

The penny jig is pretty simple. Find the extent of the warp and place that portion on the penny, and clamp around it so it bends around the penny essentially. Over correcting the warp. Placing it in the tempering oven at say 375 instead of 350 will allow for an easy warp fix! Hopefully! haha  I have had a lot of luck with it recently

Thanks again Gabriel! I feel like a total idiot now. I had a blade once that you could see the hamon, but just barely. I just figured I had tempered it too hot :blink: I used a kitchen oven that had a temperature problem. The 350° setting looked like 425°-450° range on the steel.