Throwing knife temper and material

Hi there , first of let me introduce myself, I'm a newbie in blade smithing black smithing and anything that involves making pointy sharp things lol..

I really like the look. Of the old mountain man style throwing knives and was wondering if you could help me out on what steel and temper would be best .. 

i carnt really get hold of any 1095 however I can get hold 01 tool steel and 80crv2 very easily. Wold this be ok to make a throwing knife from IMG_0372.PNG

Of the steels you mention, the only one I would use for a thrower would be 80crv2.  I would not suggest 1095 or o1 simply because the tempering temperature would be higher than the average oven can reach... Anything with .8% carbon down to .4% would work, I know one fellow who made a set out of HC railroad spikes and that might just be the best thing to use them for as far as knives go.

I make throwers and I make mine out of mild steel, though I agree with the above, it might be the best use of RR spikes.  I prefer mild or something like it for several reasons.  First, you don't want them hard because you don't want them to chip or spall pieces off.  You could do this by drawing them way back, but why bother.  Second, if you hit with a lot of torque a hard blade could break, a soft one might bend, but a couple of whacks with a rock puts them true again.  Third, there isn't much point in putting a lot of work into them, since you are going to throw them and you are going to lose them.

If you're looking for forging practice, by all means forge them, but forge them out of mild.

Just my .02

Geoff

Cheers for the help guys . 

Plan of action is try to forge one out of mild steel 

and make one out of 80crv2 using stock removal technique

next questions lol what would be best temper 

cheers again