Sign in to follow this  
JamesK

Do I have the "Ok" to Temper?

Yesterday evening I finished and heat treated my mini tomahawk head made from an old rusted prybar, and it successfully hardened to my surprise. I just did some research on tempering and wish I knew to temper the blade sooner, or that I had time to do it after the quench, but now it's the next morning and I don't know if tempering would be safe. The steel is fine and did not crack overnight and everything seems to be okay, but can critial damage be done during a temper similar to that of a heat treat? I heard 400F for 3 hours, cooling it every hour is the way to go, but this late after a treat I'm not sure how dangerous that would be, any suggestions? Thanks!

Nope, tempering only relieves stress. It does not increase it. I am no expert but 400° seems a bit low for a hawk? Anyone care to jump in?

"Tempering" is the act of softening a blade after the quench. "Drawing it back" to remove the brittleness caused by the hardening quench. You cannot "temper" a blade, axe or other, before it is quenched. Before you quench you may thermal cycle or heat treat to refine the grain structure, depending on the steel but this is different than tempering. Most folks like to temper immediately following the quench as soon as they do a file test to make sure it had hardened. It is not unusual for a blade left untempered to spontaniously crack from the stresses induced by hardening, therefore, IMO, it is a good idea to immediately give it at least a hour in the oven at the lower end of the tempering level you are aiming for immediately to relieve the stresses. Remember, the lower the tempering temp the harder the blade and you can always go back in the oven at a higher temp to soften a blade that is too hard. I too would think, depending on the steel, that you mighy want a bit higher temp for an axehead but starting low won't hurt .