Sign in to follow this  
JamesK

First time Bowie/Hidden Tang

Hey guys, I’ve been working on a Bowie knife from the second half of an old prybar (that hardens well), and this is my first real Bowie and I want a hidden tang to stay true to the classic Bowie shape. I’ve never done a hidden tang before and thought I’d ask a few questions before I continue to hammer out the tang because the last thing I want to do is ruin this knife because it looks good so far. 

F39D2FC5-DC10-45B0-8DE1-657C3411D966.jpegSo here is my knife after about an hour and a half (2 days of forging). I like the shape and think it can turn into something nice, but the tang is weird right now. It is not centered and it’s almost aligned perfectly with the top...how can I drop that tang down so that it is centered with the knife? I was thinking I can put the bottom part on the horn and just hammer from the top but I’m not 100% sure... this is really my only question but feel free to add additional tips I should know before attempting my first hidden tang

In bladesmithing there is usually more than one way around a given bush. If you didn't discover it yet (I can't tell from the pic) it is easiest, with a clip point, to begin with the tip down low on the preform either by cutting the tip diagonally or forging it down and the letting the forging of the belly and its bevel bring the tip back up. This avoids the "fish mouth" effect.

Now to your blade and question. The blade looks a bit short especially if you plan on further bevel forging. This should, IMO, be addressed before moving to the handle. Were it me, I would use the back edge of the anvil to establish the pullout working towards the tip and then establish the ricasso and start working towards the tang from there. You are correct in that you can use the horn, to make a fuller-like depression at the juncture of the spine and an established ricasso and then forging the tang material towards the butt.