Jordan Hunt

Damascus steel composition from scrap metals?

Hey guys, so I've been forging for several years now and just got set up for forge-welding, I read these forums everyday so I have seen a few posts about what type of steels to use, the problem is I'm not gonna drop a ton of money on steels, I'm mostly a scrap hunter. I want to do a damascus blade, I know normally you go with known metals that will offer a high contrast, I have some leaf spring, some mild steel, a massive industrial saw mill blade, several bandsaw blades and files and some stainless. My hope is that some combo of these metals will create a decently vivid contrast will forge welded. Anybody have a suggestion out of those materials? Sorry for the lengthy question, apparently there is wisdom in wine but only rambling and over-explanation in bourbon. Thanks in advance. 

High contrast is easiest achieved from a difference in Ni content.  Sadly, the item you list with the most Ni (stainless) also has a bunch of chrome, which makes it not a beginner forge welding material.  The next best bet is going to be the saw mill/bandsaw blades.  Combine that with say the files and you will probably have your best bet for contrast.  

The absolute cheapest way to do this though: buy known metal.  You'll spend a lot in time and fuel messing with unknown things that may not want to weld.  Or end up welding, but being so similar that there is no contrast.  Buy a few pounds of 1080 and 15N20, learn to weld with it, then try experimenting.  You will definitely save money.  

I hesitate to say this but.........

I was having dinner with a knifemaker friend, (half of) Swiss couple running a lodge in Namibia.  

He told me about a European maker that makes Damascus using leaf spring and mild steel.  I immediately questioned him about mild steel ending up on the edge, and he told me this guy folded many many times......