I am a newbe to forging.  Up until know I have been using stock rolled/machined steel ( O 1) by stock removal and quenched in used Olive oil.  I use a temperature controlled kiln.   These are specialty knives for wood carving usually 1/16 to 1/8 inch thick.

Now I am teaching myself forging.  I have no experienced blacksmiths close that I can learn from. I bought a gas forge and an anvil.  Steel is used steel from a flea market.  Files, saws, etc. I intend to go on making full size knives.

My questions are: what oil  do I use for quenching? Is Olive oil OK?  If not, automotive oil?  Buy new oil meant for quenching?

Does quenching oil go bad?

HELP.

Lanny S. (Mac) McLaughlin

The go-to oil for cheap is canola heated to around 130 degrees F.  It is the equal

to many commercial medium-fast quench oils.  Don't use motor oil.  It has detergents that absorb water, leading to unpredictable quench speeds.  If you're using scrap steels you need to know how to figure out what it likes, quench wise.  Down in the Metallurgy and other Enigmas subforum there are several discussions on how to do this.

Welcome aboard!

Having industrial quench oil is the way to go.
O1 has a huge hardening window so you could buy Mcmasterr 11 second oil.
But for many other steels parks 50 is the way to go.

It depends on the steel. 1084 go canola oil. 1095 or 01 parks 50. Gotta know the steels properties 

2 hours ago, Justinschmidt said:

It depends on the steel. 1084 go canola oil. 1095 or 01 parks 50. Gotta know the steels properties 

Parks 50 is for "water hardening" steels only.  It's that fast.  O1 likes a much more gentle quench.

For example: with 1095 you have less than one second to drop the temp from 1450 to below 900 degrees.  With O1 you have something like 30 seconds to get from 1550 to under 900.  If pushed too fast it will crack.

Canola works well for most things, and does even work on 1095.