Sign in to follow this  
Michal Plezia

[WIP] Tanto style blade

Hello,

I want to share my new project. It will be a tanto style knife. I am not an expert in Japanese blades, only basic knowledge. However, I like the aesthetics and elegant design of those weapons so I decided to make one myself. I hope that real experts won't have a heart attack after seeing my version ;)

The blade is forged from NCV1 steel. Differential hardening was successful- the edge is hard and the spine is much much softer. I hope there will be a hamon visible.

20171227_125119.jpg

20171227_163045.jpg

20171230_095817.jpg

DSC04835.JPG

Edited by Michal Plezia
  • Like 2

Just a quick cleaning and dip in a hot vinegar. There is something... probably not the most spectacular hamon in the world ;) However I hope it will be a bit more visible after decent polish and ething.

DSC04842 (2).JPGDSC04843 (2).JPG

Edited by Michal Plezia
  • Like 2

On 4.02.2018 at 10:26 PM, Zeb Camper said:

Nice! Making the habaki is easier (for me at least) if you use thinner stock. 

You are right.  I've never done habaki before so I wanted to stay on a safe side. It is easier to file some material than to add it after all ;) 

Since I am no expert on Japanese blades I feel that I mix all the styles possible and impossible :D I hope there is no Nihonto Police around ;)

Anyway, there is finally some progress.

I filed down the habaki to more elegant size.

I also tried to cast my own shibuichi (copper + silver alloy) for the tsuba.

20180323_165638.jpg

My original idea was to be smarter than Japanese masters and cast a ready plate rather than the ingot. But with no success :P

So I finally used traditional water casting. This is the result:

2018-03-24 14.26.34.jpg

I had to cut off an edge because of the crack.

20180324_145721.jpg

20180324_191531.jpg

2018-03-31 15.46.39.jpg

I also plan to make some decorative inlays on the tsuba with pure silver.

20180331_142031.jpg2018-03-31 15.47.50.jpg