Aiden CC

Getting into Metallography

This morning the materials science lab director at my college trained me on the equipment to mount, polish and polish samples as well as look at hem with an optical microscope. My firs sample was a piece of saw-blade I plan on using for fillet knives. I am completely new to interpreting micrographs, (a little later on I'm planning on meeting with a professor who is specialized more in metallurgy to take a look at the sample), and if anyone has any ideas about these, I would love to hear them.

5x_unetched_with_scale.png

Un-etched, low magnification. I think the comet tails mean I need a better polish. The scratches definitely mean that.

20x_unetched_with_scale.png

A closer look at the little inclusions.

5x_etched.png

Same magnification after the etch.

100x_etched_with_scale.png

Much higher magnification with an etch, maybe this is martensite? I'll probably re-polish and etch a little later on today.

Thanks for looking!

30 minutes ago, Aiden CC said:

I think the comet tails mean I need a better polish. The scratches definitely mean that.

Yep!  Common for starters, generally looking pretty good.  

31 minutes ago, Aiden CC said:

Much higher magnification with an etch, maybe this is martensite?

Let me edit that for you:  Much higher magnification with an etch.  This is martensite.  

2 hours ago, Jerrod Miller said:

Let me edit that for you:  Much higher magnification with an etch.  This is martensite.  

Yeah, that seems to be the consensus. I re-polished (forgot to take pictures before etch, but no comet tails!) and did a gentler etch since it was a bit over-etched at the tooth end. 20x_tooth.png

Not sure if it's anything other than an uneven etch, but there is some un-evenness where the tooth was.

50x_tooth_with_scale.png

2.5x closer

50x_far_from_edge.png