So I have been making knives for over 4 years now but recently (as in the past 3 or 4 months) I have been having an issue with my steel warping. Oddly, it's warping inside the forge, not in the quench. I am not doing or using anything different now compared to before. I will put the blade into the forge to normalize and every time, it warps right in front of my eyes. I pull it out, hammer straight, and put it back in. Only for it to warp again. I have never had this issue before. Anyone know what is going on?

So many questions to ask before suggestions can begin.

What type of steel?

How thick?

What kind of blade grind?

What temperatures are you working at?

What type of forge are you using?

Are you normalizing as part of the final heat treat or in the course of forging?

Is the warping only occuring during a normalization cycle?

Others will probably have different questions from their perspective(s)

Concentrated heat was my first guess as well. Or uneven grinds, perhaps? Really need answers to Verns questions or this is all just speculation. 

To throw out SWAGs for the record,

Fullering the blades?

If a gas forge erosion or unnoticed shifting in the burner position causing hot spot? Or hot spot combined with winter weather temp of ambient air. (Didn't look up your location)

Not popular but.... laying hot blade on cold anvil ? 

Just to make sure we're on the same page, are you normalizing by taking it to recalescence and then it's warping ?

1 hour ago, Vern Wimmer said:

So many questions to ask before suggestions can begin.

What type of steel?

How thick?

What kind of blade grind?

What temperatures are you working at?

What type of forge are you using?

Are you normalizing as part of the final heat treat or in the course of forging?

Is the warping only occuring during a normalization cycle?

Others will probably have different questions from their perspective(s)

-Usually 1095 or Damascus (1095 and 15n20) happens with both.