David Pearson

how to pattern weld?

Okay, so I am a rookie bladesmith, made a few knives and 1 sword, and for my next magic trick, I want to make my personal sword. It will be a traditional Viking sword, 30" blade, bronze pommel and guard. I have an unknown type steel bar (supposedly some kind of tool steel, which would not surprise me, considering how hard it was to cut) for basic blade blank, and would like to forge weld a 1" wide pattern welded strip down each fuller, just for looks, but I have never done pattern weld before. So,

1) Am I better off finding a more experienced smith, and have him help me with it?(not such a great option, because I really don't have money to spend, hence the reason I forge) or,

2) How do I do this if I don't get help?!?!?!?!?!

Ok, here we go...

First off, if youve never made any pattern welded steel, pattern welded sword should absolutely not be in your lexicon. Learn to forge weld first.

Make some chain links, bracelets, things like that. Then try mild steel barstock. Stack up a few layers and give it a whirl. Once you can get very good welds on those time after time, move onto simple blade steels, 1095 and 15N20 for example. If you weld those together successfully, make a knife from it. Starr small, and work your way up. 

If you start trying to learn with nice blade steels (like i did) all youre going to end up with your first few (dozen) times is a mess of mangled blade steel and a hole in your wallet. 

Making pattern welded steel is not easy, a lot of the guys here just make it look easy. It is certainly not something youre going to learn to do in a day, or even a week by yourself. Ive been doing it for about 3 years, and im JUST starting to get to where i can successfully do it most every time.

That being said, if you want to learn to forge weld, theres three variables that you must line up to get successful welds: how clean the steel is, how hot the steel is, and how much pressure is applied.