Buck Hedges

Need Advice on Steel Choice

I have a friend who works in an industrial welding shop, and is willing to cut out a Klingon bat'leth (that big curvy thing Klingons use to chop up Federation Red Shirts in Star Trek). Normally, I'd want to tackle this myself, because it would be mine. BUT he can do it for free, and since it would be a 4-foot chunk of steel and currently out of my price range, I'm going to take him up on it. Once he cuts it out, I will do all the edge shaping, hardening, heat treating, and finish work.

The kicker is this: The choices I have for steel are 516 Grade 70, A36, or AR plate.

I'm going to display my ignorance here and admit I have no knowledge of any of these. I've worked mostly with reclaimed leaf springs and farrier's rasps. Which would be better for a large, sword-like blade (something like spring steel?). Or, where could I look to learn more about these types of steel in regards to knifemaking?

The PDF is an official rendering another friend drew up for me, and the JPG is a rough colorized version of what it ought to look like when I'm done. The lighter gray areas will be beveled to cutting edges.

KJEV2 Batleth.jpg

KLINGON ARTIFACT.pdf

Edited by Buck Hedges
Forgot to add the art.

I'd go with the ASTM A516-70 out of those three.  It's basically a high-manganese 1030, barely hardenable, but has twice the tensile strength of A36.  AR plate is bendy, and, as the name suggests, abrasion resistant.  Read that to mean it'll eat belts or grinding wheels for lunch. Not hardenable, it's just very high manganese.

Is the A36 more hardenable than the A516-70? This doesn't need to be super-flexible like a longsword, since the blades are fairly short, but I would like to be able to put a decent edge on them.

If the AR will eat my belts up on top of that, it's out.

1 hour ago, Alan Longmire said: