Sign in to follow this  
Aiden CC

Help Identifying Stump

A recent project involved recycling waste materials and I ended up finding out from my college’s facilities director where they dump all the dead trees that fall on the road out in the woods by my school. On a trip out there a few days ago, I found the stump pictures below with a giant burn on it which I sawed off and later cut up. 310320E3-8E40-4CE6-AFBA-2EB541B04902.jpeg

C82CC2DA-D9D4-4F92-8643-128C65A1B97B.jpeg

You can see where I cut the burl off. This was the only piece of the tree, so not much info to work with. Frankly, I don’t really know what type of wood it is and was wondering if anyone here has any idea. I’m located in eastern MA, if that helps. I can also get some more pictures of the cut up wood if that helps. Thanks for looking!

Looks like maple or something similar, maybe white oak, but I'm no expert. Who cares what it is, as long as it's purdy :)

The leaves it's sitting on are red oak, and the bark could be oak.  Do you know how to dry burl without cracking?

3 minutes ago, Alan Longmire said:

Do you know how to dry burl without cracking?

Even if Aiden does, I don’t :D. Mind educating me please? Thanks

Remembering my 12 years living in eastern MA, the most common hardwoods are red Oak, and the beech-birch-maple types. The bark and the leaves pictured are very Oak-like

1 hour ago, Charles du Preez said:

Even if Aiden does, I don’t :D. Mind educating me please? Thanks

Cut it into blocks a little bigger than you want, boil for a few hours in several changes of water, store on a wire shelf in a cool, dry, airy location until dry, usually one year per inch of thickness.  Of microwave dry after air drying for a few weeks, but that has risks as well.  To microwave dry, weigh the block, then zap it for a minute or two, let cool.  Weigh again. Zap again.  Repeat until no further weight loss.  Too vigorous an application of microwaves may result in fire, so be careful!

Thanks Alan