I’m new to bladesmithing and decided I’d try and do a super simple 3 layer “Damascus” out of different tools, and made 3 somewhat even billets. I then forge welded what was once a nail spike to a modified file and it worked! Tried to weld an old piece of a saw blade (a mild, soft core!) to the other side of the spike and I couldn’t get it to stick for the life of me...

Obviously some steels forge weld better than others, but can someone explain why exactly that is the case? Also if anyone has any techniques to forge welding WITHOUT power tools, as I don’t have any, please share them! I spent two days making the billets now I feel like I wasted them...

You learned something so you didn't waste time.

Do a Google search of the forum and read up on forge welding. The information is out there. 

Since you are new to bladesmithing I will take the liberty to point out that starting out trying to forge damascus is not a good use of your time in general. There is a lot to designing and making a knife from a single piece. Without those things "under your belt" it is asking for problems to add forging damascus on top of it. As you have discovered "it ain't that simple" there are material compatability issues, flux issues, heat treating disparate steel issues, and on it goes. There are very few "simple" answers to it. Using "repurposed" metals compounds them almost by a magnitude. It takes a lot of experience, a lot of luck or a lot of failed attempts to pull it off .

Most starting successes begin with new 1080 and 15N20.

Just now, Vern Wimmer said:

You learned something so you didn't waste time.

Do a Google search of the forum and read up on forge welding. The information is out there.