Jon Bishop

Anvil reconditioning?

Would it ruin an anvil face if you just dressed up a 2” section of the edge by welding? The pictures highlight the area I want to fix. I plan on using 8018 c3 rod to build up. The anvil is a 196# Peter Wright. I’ve been using for two years and I really want to put a bit of good edge on it. Thanks for any input.

957F2C17-A489-4086-96B0-127025AAF874.jpeg

9A4A2519-1ADE-4EE0-B45F-4D689B80182C.jpeg

I forgot to add that this is my first post. I am a beginner/amature. I have been forging for about 9 years. I am a member of a local blacksmiths guild. I am a welder by trade and I think I'll be good with a localized heat treat. 300 degrees. But I have been lurking this site for about 9 years. So I was hoping someone with more heat treating exprience could chime in. Thanks.

Also, why does my post have a star instead of a black dot?

Edited by Jon Bishop
Add question

It has a star if you have posted in the thread.  http://www.anvilmag.com/smith/anvilres.htm is THE article about anvil repair.  Peter Wrights are a steel-faced wrought iron body, so keep that in mind.  Wrought hates arc welding.  I usually don't recommend anvil repairs, but since you are a welder by trade just follow exactly what that article says, rod selection and all, and it ought to work.  That said, That particular anvil might be helped with just a little careful cleanup with an angle grinder and a 120-grit flap disc.

Welcome aboard, by the way!  

Just a suggestion, but if all you are after is a sharp corner edge to work with

you may think about making a block of 4140 with a post welded in to fit your hardy hole, I use a piece 2"x2"

on my anvil but you can use whatever size you need per project, no risk to the surface hardness that way.

And as well welcome to the forum..........................B)