Sign in to follow this  
Ron Benson

Whole pork loin choppers

First, I have been following this site for a few months now, but as a total newbie, ( with one knife made), I don't normally post.

I just got back from volunteering with Operation BBQ Relief in Wilmington NC where we prepared hot meals for victims and first responders. (These meals are not just two slices of bread with a slice of ham and cheese.) By the time OBR leaves, they will have prepared well over 300,000 meals. On several days enough meals were prepared to serve every man, woman, and child in Wilmington. Meals include a protein and several sides. Sandwich rolls can be included when serving pulled pork.

The main proteins are pulled pork, turkey breast, and pork loin. The day that pork loin was prepared while I was there, they had smoked several hundred whole loins that had to be chopped into individual portions, and electric meat slicers are just not fast enough. This was accomplished by using ~ 12" butchers  knives with one hand on the handle, and one hand on the end of the blade, and chopping it down with enough force to cut in one quick motion. To say the least, butcher knives are not the most optimal tools.

Talking to one of the volunteers wielding the knives, he agreed that there should be a better solution. It looks like something along the lines of a pizza cutter would work but maybe 12". 

I am looking for two things:

Design help - it needs to be light but sturdy, SS, and tough enough to do the job without stopping to sharpen. (They do have volunteer pro knife sharpeners that come on occasion - but not often enough.)

Someone to make the knives - I will pay for the materials to make two knives. If anyone else is willing to pay for a knife, that would be great. If more than one person would like to make a knife, that would be awesome. The goal is to get two knives, but that would mean no extras. Four would be over the top.

Thanks ~ Ron Benson

Edited by RonB