Jonny C

Unquenchable leaf springs

I believe similar threads have already been posted but I’m curious if someone out there is familiar with what kind of spring steel this could be and possibly how to harden it, I recently acquired a stack of thick leaf springs that look like they came off of a trailer, being a rookie I instantly went to work at forging some big bad blades and to my dismay I was unable to harden them in quench, neither in oil nor water, any insight or suggestions? Thanks

Hmm, that isn't much info to go off of. 

What temperature did you have the steel at when you tried to quench?  Were you simply testing for hardness with a file?

After failing to harden a blade I had forged I cut multiple test pieces and attempted to harden them, at different temperatures, in cold oil, hot oil, cold water, and hot water, all test pieces were above non magnetic, some well above non magnetic, even approaching forge welding tempratures, all with roughly the same result, I tested with files, ball bearing bounce, and hammer blows, the steel did not become brittle, though one test piece quenched in cold water seemed to harden superficially , but I may have been kidding myself 

I’m fairly new to this and am working with very primitive equipment, but I have had great results quenching other steels, these leaf springs are making me scratch my head though, they were free so I’m not heartbroken if I can’t use them but if there was something fundamental that I’m missing I’d gratefully accept any advice 

I attempted to quench this blade 4 times and was very careful with decarb and kept it to a minimum, also the blade was normalized between quenches and I observed recalescence and quenched at varying temperatures 

I am told granger can test and tell ya what the steel is for about 100.00

Non magnetic is 1425 if I am not mistaken. your 10xx steels harden at 1475-1500*

1550 is more like 1550-1600...a magnet isnt much help there.