Sign in to follow this  
Faye

All Purpose Kitchen Knife

I received a request for an all purpose kitchen knife and this is the design I came up with. It's a pretty basic design, flat grind, full tang with a brass bolster and some kind of wood for the handle. All advice is appreciated as kitchen desings are not my forte.

IMG_20181006_195909997.jpg

With the shape you have here  mine average on 5-6". (blade)

I ran  into issues with cutting various things depending on edge thickness vs edge angle. For my go to have found with this size if not wanting food to stick to side of blade a convex blade bevel was my go to. ( you know you slice a cucumber and the slice is clinging on like a monkey, not able to get another cut in) I am finding myself trying out, change grind, trying out changing blade taper, grind..and so on. 

Best of luck! 

I am no expert here, but I cook. I have found that a blade of somewhat triangular shape with the widest part at heel works best because it will give you knuckle clearance vs the cutting board. I also found that ricassos and plunges are awkward when the time comes to sharpen on the water stone. So you could basically add 3/4" width at heel, put a little less belly at tip, remove the ricasso and plunge and you're good to go :lol:

Joel, is this what you're talking about?

IMG_20181007_130223530.jpg

More or less. Keep the spine as is but the edge is parallel when it should be aiming towards the tip.

Edited by Joël Mercier

Here's what I mean. Sorry it isn't as accurate as I wanted but I'm doing this on my phone. 

This way, when the edge is parallel to the cutting board, there's way more clearance for your knuckles.

1960608196.png

If it was me, I'd forge the heel an extra 0.5" or more.

Edited by Joël Mercier

Okay, so more drastic than I thought, but it would still be a slightly curved edge right? Kind of like this?

IMG_20181007_204901241.jpg

Yes. May I have the blade dimensions to give me an idea of the proportions?