Sign in to follow this  
Zeb Camper

Faux sheer steel

Hey guys! I have a question... I want some sheer steel. The only problem is that I'm not technically awesome enough to make my own yet :(. But, I figured I could take some w2 and wrought iron and fold it over enough to force carbon and slag across some boundaries in order to make some fake sheer steel that could literally be almost the same thing. 

My question is how many times should I fold it? I started out with 2 layers and welded about 5 times I think. So I should have 32 layers. The method behind the madness by starting with only 2 layers was soaking at welding heat for a longer time, thereby possibly causing more carbon migration. 

I went ahead and beat it pretty randomly around the bias to make it look like it was beat pretty randomly. Does it even look real yet? Or do I need more layers? And the pics don't do it justice. Every thicker layer has several smaller layers between it. 

Thanks! 

20181012_182757.jpg

20181012_182750.jpg

20181012_182529.jpg

I believe you can make your own!!! But if it would help any I have quite a bit of carburized wrought that I'm not going to be able to use for quite some time and when I do get back at it I have no plans for it, if you would like some to help on your endeavor i will send some out to you next week. Just send me a PM if your interested.

• Like 1

I've used 16 layers, which I was quite happy with. I started a new billet, but at 8 layers, I've lost half of the steel already, and a lot of forging hours into it. So I'm not going to do another fold, as I simply don't have the time. The cutting edge here has 16 layers (need to remake that some day, due to the weld flaw in the wrought): 

IMG_20170608_183123.jpg

• Like 1

I have always taken it up into the high hundreds of layers...(800+)

• Like 1