Sign in to follow this  
Robert D.

Something ive wanted to try.

So I have wanted to give a go at forging a traditional tanto, well this last weekend I decided that now was the time. 

I had some spare leaf spring floating around for this project for over a year now, because I want to screw up on free steel if I am going to screw up. So I cut this length in half so I was working with about 12 inches by 1 inch by 1/4 inch thick.

I started by clipping the tip so when I forge the bevels the spine straightens out. Then started narrowing the profile and adding some taper to the blade. As you can see from the pic doing so increased the length significantly. Then I started the process of forging in the tang area. 

Now that I am looking at it, the blade still seems too wide profile wise. Once I go to hammer in the bevels I am going to end up widening the blade probably back to around the original 1 inch profile that it started with. Which to me seems too wide for a tanto, but I am no expert by any means on that topic.  Also it seems like I might end up pushing this blade into the Wakazashi length range as the blade at the tang transition area is already over 12 inches long. 

Critiques and suggestions welcome. 

Also, ignore all the beer cans, My son has been earning money from dad crushing cans, he just isnt all that reliable about cleaning them up all the time. 

tanto.jpg

I have found that the only way to reliably forge weld any sort of billet in my forge is by the beer measurement system. ( BMS for short )

Its a very simple system, If the billet is cold when you throw it in, it needs to spend 1 beer in the forge coming up to fluxing temps. 
Once its been fluxed and returned to the fire. Drink another beer then check your billet. 
If its hot enough, hit it. if not clean it reflux it and leave it in for another beer. 

Rinse and repeat till your forgewelding is done...