Eric Byers

What do I need specifically

I am new to black smithing and would like to know what tools to get.

What kind of welder?

What kind ofPower hammer?

What kind ofPress?

What kind ofGrinder?

What kind ofDrill?

What kind of Hammer's/Tong's?

What kind of forge both propane and coal? 

Maybe a resource to find this stuff cause my shopping list is getting expensive

Blu Max 65 = $5,995
TW90 Grinder = $3,850
Baileigh Press HSP-20A= $995
Delta drill press = $1,048
Cutting torch = $929
Venturi forge = $700
Delta 28-400 Bandsaw = $698
Post vise/Leg vise = $550
Anvils (estimate) = $500
Rod Welder = $480
Angle Grinder = $169
Stationary buffer = $52
Hammer's = ??
Tong's = ??
Punches = ??
More?

Any advice cause I'm feeling pretty overwhelmed.

Edited by Eric Byers
Information update

Power hammer or press you can build.  It may seem overwhelming but I would suggest searching the forums for what others have done.  I don’t even have a power yet it’s all being forged by hand at the moment.  Harbor freight is a good source for an in expensive welder.  But yes best thing to do is research everything.  I’ve just started not too long ago myself and only now just got a grinder I can use.  My welder is a 125 amp flux welder from Hf.  You don’t have to spend a ton of money to get the basics of what you need.  Just better research.  

• Thanks 1

2 minutes ago, AndyB said:

Power hammer or press you can build.  It may seem overwhelming but I would suggest searching the forums for what others have done.  I don’t even have a power yet it’s all being forged by hand at the moment.  Harbor freight is a good source for an in expensive welder.  But yes best thing to do is research everything.  I’ve just started not too long ago myself and only now just got a grinder I can use.  My welder is a 125 amp flux welder from Hf.  You don’t have to spend a ton of money to get the basics of what you need.  Just better research.