Hi guys i meed advice i got some cheap stainless steel but im a beginner and besides that its stainless i dont know what composition it has. Any advice on how to heat treat would be appreciated i want atleast attempt to heat treat it. If this does not belong here please tell me where to post it.

Edited by Adriaan G

IF you knew what it was....you would probably be wasting your time with out a kiln/blade oven.

The last piece I tried the heat treat was something like hold at 1450...then take to 1950....then hold at 1976* for 10 min.

Apparently 1975 just wont cut it.

I have a probe and thought I did pretty good. When I gave it the chevy stress test it rolled like a potato bug. lol

Yeah, stainless alloys have such a wildly variable range of heat treating requirements you really can't even test them like you can straight carbon steels.  Some are heat and oil quench, some are heat and air quench, some are heat, then heat more, hold for X amount of time, then clamp between aluminum plates prior to submerging in liquid nitrogen for several hours, and it gets worse from there. :lol:  If you're lucky, what you have is nonmagnetic and therefore not hardenable anyway, so you won't have to worry about it.  B)

Just to add, don't mess with trying to forge stainless.

10 hours ago, Vern Wimmer said:

Just to add, don't mess with trying to forge stainless.

Just to play devils advocate here, i assume you mean stainless blade steels? S90V, 440C, etc.? Because i have forged 303, 304, and 316L without any problems. You just have to watch your temps. 

Forging blade steel quality stainless is another story entirely...

8 minutes ago, Will W. said:

Just to play devils advocate here, i assume you mean stainless blade steels? S90V, 440C, etc.? Because i have forged 303, 304, and 316L without any problems. You just have to watch your temps. 

Forging blade steel quality stainless is another story entirely...

Yah, being as it's the bladesmiths forum and all.....