Sign in to follow this  
Pieter-Paul Derks

My adventure with the Japanese tanto, AKA raising the bar

This summer marked the 5th year where I have spent my spare time forging blades, I think I have gained a fairly good grasp on the making of knives and simple Damascus and am quite happy with the quality of work I can make now. However, I am a firm believer in always raising the bar and once in a while I think it is a good idea to raise myself a real challenge.

This summer I found myself with 6 weeks of summer vacation, one of the perks of being a student I suppose. So, I decided to build a tanto with the traditional mountings that come apart with a single pin. I had never attempted to make a takedown before, the wooden sheath, habaki, leather wrap and basically everything else was new to me, but I figured I had plenty of time and willpower to muscle through.

To make things simultaneously harder and easier for myself I decided to do all the work with hand tools. I think finding the ´´zen´´ of working with hand tools is a great way to honour the traditions of bladesmithing and also it makes you much more connected with the blade you are crafting. As an added bonus I am a lot less likely to make a fatal mistake with files instead of a grinder.

It will probably be no great surprise for the bladesmithsforum veterans that my main inspiration for this project was the work of Dave Friesen and his phenomenal website: islandblacksmith.com. On this site every step of the process is clearly explained and beautifully photographed, so there was really no excuse not to try it myself.

I tried to shoot many pictures of the process, both for myself and to post them on my Instagram page and here on the forum.