Sign in to follow this  
James Simonds

early medieval steel. to bloom or not to bloom?

Hello

I am a new amateur bladesmith and also writing a historical fiction book about the late viking age. The story centers on a smith from lower saxony taught in the western swordsmithing ways who ends up in Uppsala in the Norse kingdom of sweden learning about Norse swordsmithing and then creating a fusion between the two styles which i find very interesting. (thats not the main part of the story, its a side note but i want it to be beleivable).

I am trying to make my book relatively historically accurate, or as i said, believable. This is not a scholarly work and i am not splitting hairs over the minor differences between hammer shapes or whatever, i am looking at the big picture. correct period and location sword/axe/spear/seax design and use etc. I have been researching this all very thoroughly, going as far as to forge my own seax with Owen Bush (there is a post somewhere about that). i am very comfortable about the differences in Norse and Western european weapon design etc. and the forging process.

What i am utterly struggling with, and i am clearly not alone, is how the two different areas made and used their steel. I assumed it was pretty much known how medieval weapons were made in terms of metallurgy and process. i knew vaguely about bloomery steel, de-carburising and fining in general. but my recent research has turned up so much conflicting information about steel production and use that i feel like i have lost track of what is right. so, with that context, i am hoping you fine folk can help me out. and yes, i have read some other threads on this forum already but again, the often confused me more than helped in this particular case! this is because they mostly focus on what is possible, i want to know what was done at this specific moment and place in time.

Here is what i think is my understanding of it and my main gaps.