Sign in to follow this  
Ron Benson

Current state of positive air flow face masks?

As my shop nears completion, and with the additional wisdom age brings, I am thinking I should get a good filter mask, and units like the Trend Airshield Pro look like the way to go for safety and comfort. I did a lot of woodturning as well as furniture making in the past and want to add stock removal knife making, so a good mask of some type will be necessary. I hate to spend that much money on something that I will not really enjoy, but I remember the dark brown boogers from younger days...

The topics here are several years old, and I wonder what people are using today. A quick check of Amazon shows a number of models from Trend and 3M that are less than an arm and a leg - maybe just a few fingers. ;) So what are you using now, and thanks.

BTW - I SUGGEST NEWBIES SPEND SOME TIME READING IN THE SAFETY  TOPICS - VERY SOBERING.

Edited by Ron Benson

I've been using my 3M Adflo for at least 6+ years. No problems with it. I really wouldn't want to be without a PAPR. I always have a beard and without positive pressure, you just can't get a good seal on your face. Not only that but it's a lot cooler with air blowing down your face instead of having to suck air through a filter.

I would say even with the battery, air pump, filters, and all strapped around my waist on my 3M Adflo, the extremely light-weight helmet that goes on my head still gets to me after using it for hours at a time.

I looked at the Trend Pro for a while. For the money, it's probably a pretty good deal. I would think with filters/battery/pump/etc being on my head it would really start hurting my neck after an extended grinding session. My other concerns for cheaper models is battery length and quality of filters.