Sign in to follow this  
Matthew Stone

Sgian Dubh ish blade WIP

So a friend of mine has been bitten by the genealogy bug & is wanting a Sgian dubh to go with his new kilt.  Me being me, I said I'd give it a go. I'm always willing to screw up in new and interesting ways. Its how I learn.

Taking advice from others here, I've tried drawing something out first. Please forgive my poor artistic abilities. Drawing has never been a strong suit for me. 

Hopefully everything is in the picture & please feel free to shoot holes in my design. I've never done ones of these before. 

I plan to light the coal tonight. 

Thank you

0214190944~2.jpg

Nice design and a great start.

One thing... You mention Wenge/texas ebony for the handle (I think that's what that says down at the bottom). In my opinion, Wenge is one of the hardest woods to carve and I'm guessing texas ebony is not to far behind on that scale. Unless you have pretty extensive carving experience you might find a friendlier wood.

Yes sir, that is what it says. 

Carving Wenge is known to me. I've used for several scabbards in the past. With fair to middling results.  The Texas ebony is a newer one to me. I've never personally worked it as yet. But I'm somewhat eager to give it a go.  Except for the price of screwing it up. The stuff sure ain't cheap.

Wood work is an old hobby of mine. I made gunstocks & pistol grips once apon a time. 

I'll probably stick to the Wenge since this is for a friend & I'm more comfortable with it. Then use the Texan ebony for something personal. 

Thank you for the input. 

38 minutes ago, Matthew Stone said:

I'll probably stick to the Wenge since this is for a friend & I'm more comfortable with it.

Perfect! As long as you know what your getting into :D Definitely on the splintery side, but when done right is gorgeous. 

I had to dig through the forum a bit, but here is one of my knives I made with Wenge and it is still one of my favorites.

K3 corrected3.JPG

Adam

• Like 2