Sign in to follow this  
Gerald Boggs

White Balance

White Balance, I've posted about this before, but think it important enough to bear repeating.

Let me be clear, I'm a photography novice. However, since I earn my living based on what my photos convey, I've had to learn a little. My problems started when I began selling on Amazon. Up to this point, I had been using the auto setting on my camera and shooting outside in natural settings with good results. However, Amazon requires the main photo to be either a white or neutral background. Much to my disappointment, no matter how much or what type of lighting I used, I couldn't get a good photo. I've since learned that without setting your white balance, you will never get a good photo. So if you've been taking photos and wondering why they're kind of dark and the white looks a bit gray, this is why. Hopes this helps.

I had that problem shooting stuff on a black background with a digital camera.  The auto setting tries to even things out, so you have to set the exposure on the object rather than the background.  In the old days of manual-set film cameras I used what's called a gray card to set the exposure and bracketed one stop (or one shutter speed) on either side as well as in the middle, and always got a usable shot that way.  Twenty years later with a high-end digital SLR I totally forgot to do that for a while and couldn't figure out why the exposures looked like crap... found my old gray cards and metered off those, used the exposure lock button, problem solved.  

That's what I now have.  Used it and suddenly I can take photos with a white background :-)

(I am a photographer noob)

I always resorted to just using all manual settings, setting white balance, exposure, iso, f-stop based on the picture I was taking. 

This is probably too nerdy for anyone to care, but I worked my way through college in a darkroom, and it is rare I get to geek out about exposure levels :)