Sign in to follow this  
Joshua States

Mokume Gane (a quick How To Do)

A while back some folks had asked about a tutorial of sorts on how to do Mokume Gane. I had done a pictorial of my process, and couldn't find the photos anymore, so I left it alone. Well, I found them again on a thumb drive and figured I would post them here for reference. 

I have noticed that most folks suggest using coins, like US quarters. I tried this with limited success and when it was successful, the resulting piece was so small it's applicability was very limited. I graduated to using pieces of 1" by 3" strips in order to have enough material for a set of knife fittings. Eventually, I moved to 2" by 3" plates in order to have enough material for a guard, spacer and a frame handle. It's roughly the same amount of work for twice the result. This is what the following pictorial uses.