Sign in to follow this  
Andrew W

My first smelt attempt (partial success!)

First off, hello! This is my first post here--I've been lurking for months, reading the archives and enjoying how much knowledge everyone has shared. I appreciate what you've all built here.

Last week I smelted iron for the first time. I'm a medieval technology historian, and my book-research specializes in early medieval English iron bladesmithing. I'm also a novice bladesmith, and I've always wanted to smelt my own iron, since I saw Darrell Markewitz give a demo at the Kalamazoo ICMS in 2013. I drove up to Mark Green's place in December, and he walked me through the process. I was excited to build my first stack and try for myself.

IMG_5513-e1550814107934.jpg

And I made metal!

opening7.jpg

Unfortunately, my tuyere melted part way though (I used a ceramic kiln shelf support, and it didn't make it). I think this is what caused most of the slag in my stack to freeze up. I still got 4lb of iron (as well as a bucket full of iron-heavy slag for resmelting later), so I'm pleased for a first attempt.

IMG_5599.jpg

I've got a copper pipe on the way for next time, and I'm hoping I can achieve a solid bloom on try #2 next weekend.

So far, the iron is forging up well!

52602221_2078176862217873_55704696583157IMG_5717.jpg

Here are two blog posts with some more photos and a discussion of the equipment I used, if anyone's interested:

1) http://andrewwelton.com/smelting-iron-a-first-attempt/

2) http://andrewwelton.com/forging-a-bloom-into-iron-bars/

Thank you to everyone here for sharing so much knowledge. You helped me avoid a lot of newbie mistakes :)

IMG_5668-1.jpg

Edited by Andrew W
  • Like 3