Sign in to follow this  
Zeb Camper

New power hammer design/possible WIP

Hey guys! What you thank?

The idea is a (semi) free swinging helve that strikes level. Different top dies could be used as well as hardy tools. A lightweight hammer that strikes fast is what I had in mind. Something you could take the anvil off and throw it in your truck. Simplicity and toughness is what I'm after.

20190304_203716.jpg

• Like 1

I have never built 1 before but that looks real cool!

Posted (edited)

Interesting concept, though lots of moving parts can sometimes mean lots of issues to deal with.

I wouldn't mind seeing a working three D schematic on this one for enlightenment on it's operation........................B)

Edited by Clifford Brewer

Posted (edited)

If it were me I would use an eccentric bearing like this one. This particular one goes to a claas combine. I just think you can get it to run faster using one.

shaker-shoe-eccentric-wobble-drive-619480-claas.jpg

Edited by Jeremy Blohm
  • Like 1

I'm guessing that goes on the cam shaft and attaches to the rod that pushes the hammer? 

Might should just forget about the hammer dropping level and do a single beam. K.I.S.S.

They make for better drawing hammers because there is only one place in the stroke where the dies are parallel.  It looks like the bottom one uses a piece of RR track as the helve.

It always gives me a sad smile to see the JYH vid.  Neither Jack or Grant are with us any more.

Geoff

I think this is called a cricket, this is a foot powered version

2815959222_9411a17658_z.jpg

Thanks for all that Geoff! 

I might just make a single beam like that little giant one. I'm after something easy to build that will wear really well. My current hammer I wish I had done differently. It runs fine (other than the motor being too fast) but all the wear parts are kind of dinky. I'll need to scrap it or rebuild it.