Sign in to follow this  
Gerhard Gerber

Life is getting in the way again......

I missed several calls yesterday afternoon while I was busy in the shop......calls regarding a job.

In many ways a better job than I could dream about at this stage........very small mining town, been there, done that, made the friends and kept them despite the distance.

Need to move myself 1000km  South inside a week, have to be there by April fool's day, and I'll be in temporary contractor's accommodation.....no garage, nowhere to work.

I find it very strange that I define myself by making knives already, since it's not self-supporting and might never be, work.....the j-o-b, is just to support the knife making.

I've got enough money once I cash out my pension to sustain myself for about a year, so those are the options.......stop making knives for (hopefully) about 6 months or cut-out completely and try to make the impossible come true...

I have never identified myself by what I do for a living, except for the time I was building houses as a general contractor. Even that was short lived and mostly played second fiddle to my rock-climber identity. I have a love/hate relationship with my j-o-b, always have and always will. It gets in the way of doing the things I want to do with my life, yet it makes doing those things financially possible at the same time.

Ask yourself a simple question: Can you not take that job and spend a year making knives and be earning a living from knife making before the money runs out? 

Another question to ask is this one: If you take a 6-month hiatus from making knives to take this job, will you be able to get back into the craft with have the resources to set up shop?

On 3/21/2019 at 8:11 PM, Joshua States said:

Ask yourself a simple question: Can you not take that job and spend a year making knives and be earning a living from knife making before the money runs out?